top of page

In the ocean, hip deep

Updated: Oct 4, 2022

Anbe, by Krithika Nelson & Jerin C Raj



Anbe is a song that could take you on a psychedelic trip if one tries to listen closing their eyes. At least it did for me.


A lot of work has gone into the song, especially the arrangement, lyrics and Krithika's performance. The rhythm of the track is minimal, a kick that can't be defined-but felt, synth bass, pads, and Koto are minimally placed in sweet spots. Especially the sound effects used in the track make a big difference.



Krithika's performance in Anbe is very different from her previous works in Kanaa and Lift. Her performance sits heavy in the song, her voice is light as air though.


Mix and the complete production of the song is brilliant, and Anbe's mastering speaks for itself.

Krithika says,
"...Well, I fell in love with someone that didn't have bandwidth for love. Nothing wrong with that, but I was broken. Love of my life, unavailable. I went away for a solo trip. Stood in the ocean, hip deep, tears flowing down my eyes, screaming at the universe, wondering why I couldn't have someone that I love so much. I guess all the grief wrote itself into a song that night. But I wanted to showcase that moment in the beach, in the song."

This song is part of the Tamil Indie essentials playlist. Please check out the songs by other Independent artists here


28 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page